EN▾

526 Market Street · Independence National Historical Park · Philadelphia

Liberty Bell Tickets & Tours

Entry to the Liberty Bell is free and needs no ticket: first come, first served, daily 9 am to 5 pm per the NPS. This guide covers the line, Independence Hall timed tickets, the bell’s story and six tours nearby.

Independent guide · Not affiliated with the National Park Service or any tour operator

Free
no ticket for the bell
9 am to 5 pm
daily, per the NPS
2,080 lb
bronze, at order
1753
recast by Pass and Stow
1846
last rung, in February
13 taps
each July 4
Start here: the Liberty Bell has no ticket. The NPS puts it plainly: “Admission is FREE” and “NO tickets are required. Entrance is first-come, first-served.” Visitors join the line at the Liberty Bell Center, 526 Market Street, and pass a security screening. The ticket people often mean is for Independence Hall across Chestnut Street: a free, timed ticket reserved on recreation.gov, with a small reservation fee per ticket shown there. The six products on GetYourGuide wrap a guide, a bus seat, a museum or an evening walk around the visit; none of them is needed to see the bell. Do you need tickets? sets it out in full, and the six tours sit side by side.

Key takeaways

  • The bell is free, with no ticket: entry to the Liberty Bell Center is first come, first served, daily 9 am to 5 pm according to the NPS, which advises checking nps.gov before visiting. The full answer is on do you need tickets.
  • Independence Hall is the building with a ticket: guided tours from 10:40 am to 4 pm need a free timed ticket from recreation.gov, reserved up to 30 days ahead, while the 9 to 10:30 am open house needs none (NPS). Details on Independence Hall tickets.
  • The bell can be seen without the line: it is visible through the large windows on Chestnut Street at any hour, and Visit Philadelphia describes a side window on the building’s east side. More on seeing it without waiting.
  • Screening comes first: visitors and bags pass an airport-style check, and the NPS lists a visit at 15 to 55 minutes plus the wait. There are no restrooms inside; the nearest are at the Independence Visitor Center. See the Liberty Bell Center.
  • The bell has been silent since February 1846, when a second crack “silenced the bell forever” (NPS). Each July 4, descendants of the signers of the Declaration tap it 13 times. The story is on the crack.
  • Listed durations run from about 90 minutes to 15 hours, from the candlelight ghost walk to the day trip from New York; the museum admission is valid for 2 consecutive days. The choice by time and group is on which tour.

What is free and what is booked

The bell, its exhibits and the Independence Hall tickets are handled by the National Park Service. The six products on GetYourGuide are separate from the park; each listing states free cancellation up to 24 hours before for a full refund, and start times show in the calendar of the booking widget.

Free, from the NPS

  • The Liberty Bell itself, at the Liberty Bell Center, 526 Market Street: no tickets, first come, first served, daily 9 am to 5 pm
  • The exhibits along the hallway, which follow the bell’s history “through its use by abolitionists and civil rights advocates” (NPS), plus a video with open captions
  • The view through the large windows on Chestnut Street, at any time of day or night
  • The Independence Hall open house from 9 to 10:30 am, with no ticket (NPS)
  • Timed Independence Hall tours, free, reserved on recreation.gov with a small reservation fee per ticket shown there

Booked on GetYourGuide

  • On foot by day: the Revolution and Founders history tour (2 hours, Independence Hall timed tickets included per the listing) and the history highlights walk (2.5 hours, with a demonstration at the Museum of the American Revolution)
  • On foot after dark: the ghost tour by candlelight, about 90 minutes in the park, Old City and Society Hill
  • By vehicle: the hop-on hop-off bus (ticket valid 1, 2 or 3 days) and the full-day trip from New York with 20 minutes at the Liberty Bell, per its itinerary
  • Indoors: Museum of the American Revolution admission, valid for 2 consecutive days
  • The current price shows in the booking widget of each product; this site sells nothing itself

Around the bell, block by block

The Liberty Bell Center stands on Independence Mall, between the Independence Visitor Center on Market Street and Independence Hall on Chestnut Street. The stops below run from the visitor center south to the Hall, east into Old City and back west along Arch Street to the north end of the Mall.

The NPS buildings keep their own hours, set out on its hours page; check nps.gov before visiting. The nearest SEPTA station is 5th Street/Independence Hall on the L (the Market-Frankford Line).

  1. Independence Visitor Center, 6th and Market Streets: Open daily 9 am to 6 pm, with the NPS desk closing at 5 pm, according to the NPS. It has restrooms, which the Liberty Bell Center does not. The Founders history tour meets outside its Market Street doors, per its listing.
  2. Liberty Bell Center, 526 Market Street: Free entry through security screening, daily 9 am to 5 pm (NPS). Visitors exit at the south end, near Chestnut Street, across from Independence Hall.
  3. Independence Hall, Chestnut Street between 5th and 6th Streets: The Declaration of Independence and the US Constitution were both signed here (UNESCO). Open house 9 to 10:30 am, then timed tours with tickets (NPS). Congress Hall stands beside it, with its own open house and tours, per the NPS hours page.
  4. Signers Garden, 5th and Chestnut Streets: The meeting point for the history highlights walk (at the Signer statue) and for the ghost tour by candlelight, per their listings.
  5. Museum of the American Revolution, 101 South 3rd Street: At 3rd and Chestnut, “steps from Independence Hall” in the words of its listing. Hours are on amrevmuseum.org.
  6. Carpenters’ Hall: A stop on the history highlights walk’s listed route through Old City.
  7. Elfreth’s Alley, off 2nd Street: Often described as one of the oldest residential streets in the country, and a stop on the history highlights walk, per its listing.
  8. Christ Church Burial Ground, 5th and Arch Streets: Benjamin Franklin’s grave is in this burial ground.
  9. Betsy Ross House, 239 Arch Street: Listed on both the history highlights walk and the hop-on hop-off bus route.
  10. National Constitution Center, 525 Arch Street: At the north end of Independence Mall; the hop-on hop-off bus stops here, per its listing. Visiting details are on constitutioncenter.org.

More on each stop is on things to do nearby, and a full day built around the Mall is on Philadelphia in one day.

How booking works

Decide what the visit needs

The bell itself needs no booking. A guide on foot, Independence Hall timed tickets, a bus seat, a museum or an evening walk can be booked; the cards below give each product’s duration, start point and what it does with the bell.

Pick a date in the widget

The widget shows live availability from GetYourGuide. Start times show in the calendar, and the current price shows in the widget.

Book with the listed cancellation terms

Each of the six listings states free cancellation up to 24 hours before the start for a full refund.

Meet at the listed start point

Start points differ by product: the Market Street doors of the Independence Visitor Center for the Founders tour, Signers Garden for the highlights walk and the ghost tour, the Philadelphia Bourse for the bus, 101 South 3rd Street for the museum, and the Times Square area of New York for the day trip. Each listing has the details.

Check dates for the Founders tour with Independence Hall tickets

A 2-hour walk in English with a historian guide that meets outside the Market Street doors of the Independence Visitor Center. Its listing includes Independence Hall timed tickets and says visitors “See the Liberty Bell and the homes of Alexander Hamilton, Benjamin Franklin and George Washington”; whether it enters the Liberty Bell Center, the listing does not say. It runs rain or shine and is listed as wheelchair accessible. Pick a date and live availability appears here; the current price shows in the widget.

Check availability & book
Liberty Bell Tickets is an independent guide. It is not the National Park Service, not Independence National Historical Park and not a tour operator, and it is not affiliated with any of the companies whose tours and tickets it describes. Entry to the Liberty Bell Center is free and needs no ticket. Booking links go to GetYourGuide and are affiliate links: a booking made through them may earn this site a small commission at no extra cost to the traveller. See the affiliate disclosure.

Three ways to see the bell with a guide or a seat, side by side

The Founders history tour, the history highlights walk and the hop-on hop-off bus, one column each, from their listings. All six products are set out together on the tours page.

Hall includedPhiladelphia: Revolution and The Founders History TourPhiladelphia: History, Highlights & Revolution Walking TourPhiladelphia: Double-Decker Hop-on Hop-off Sightseeing Tour
Length2 hours on foot2.5 hours on foot90-minute loop; ticket valid 1, 2 or 3 days
Start pointMarket Street doors, Independence Visitor CenterThe Signer statue, Signer’s GardenThe Philadelphia Bourse, 111 S Independence Mall E
With the bell“See the Liberty Bell”; entry not statedA listed stop at the Liberty BellA hop-off stop; going in is up to the rider
Independence HallTimed tickets included, per the listingOn the route; entry not statedStops in the Independence Hall area
Access per listingListed as wheelchair accessibleListed as wheelchair accessibleNot suitable for wheelchair users
Book thisBook thisBook this

Hall includedPhiladelphia: Revolution and The Founders History Tour

Length
2 hours on foot
Start point
Market Street doors, Independence Visitor Center
With the bell
“See the Liberty Bell”; entry not stated
Independence Hall
Timed tickets included, per the listing
Access per listing
Listed as wheelchair accessible

Philadelphia: History, Highlights & Revolution Walking Tour

Length
2.5 hours on foot
Start point
The Signer statue, Signer’s Garden
With the bell
A listed stop at the Liberty Bell
Independence Hall
On the route; entry not stated
Access per listing
Listed as wheelchair accessible

Philadelphia: Double-Decker Hop-on Hop-off Sightseeing Tour

Length
90-minute loop; ticket valid 1, 2 or 3 days
Start point
The Philadelphia Bourse, 111 S Independence Mall E
With the bell
A hop-off stop; going in is up to the rider
Independence Hall
Stops in the Independence Hall area
Access per listing
Not suitable for wheelchair users

Three on foot, two by vehicle and one museum. Each card links to the live GetYourGuide listing, where the calendar and the current price appear; the listings each state free cancellation up to 24 hours before.

What travellers mention afterwards

Short paraphrased lines from travellers who booked these products, with the one each took.

A guide passionate about history, with the stories told well. Learned a lot.
Candice, USPhiladelphia: Revolution and The Founders History Tour
A knowledgeable guide and plenty of new information along the way.
Kayla, USPhiladelphia: History, Highlights & Revolution Walking Tour
A live guide narrating the route rather than a recording, and an engaging one.
Gary, UKPhiladelphia: Double-Decker Hop-on Hop-off Sightseeing Tour
A wonderful day, with a friendly and helpful guide.
Rhoda, USFrom NYC: Washington & Philadelphia Full Day Guided Tour
One of the best museums visited anywhere.
Brian, UKPhiladelphia: Museum of the American Revolution Entry
Great stories on the walk after dark.
Scott, USPhiladelphia Ghost Tour by Candlelight

Paraphrased from travellers who booked through GetYourGuide. The six, close up ›

Quick answers before visiting

Four short answers to common questions, with links to the full pages.

Can visitors ring the Liberty Bell?

No. The bell was last rung in February 1846, for Washington’s Birthday, when a second crack ran “from the abbreviation for ‘Philadelphia’ up through the word ‘Liberty’” and “silenced the bell forever” (NPS). It is tapped, not rung, each July 4. More on can you ring it.

What word is misspelled on the bell?

“Pensylvania”, with one n. It was an accepted spelling at the time: Alexander Hamilton used it on the Constitution’s signature page in 1787. The full inscription is on the misspelled word.

What does “licking the Liberty Bell” mean?

It is a joke from the sitcom How I Met Your Mother, in the 2005 episode “Sweet Taste of Liberty”, where two characters travel to Philadelphia to lick the bell. It is not a tradition, and the bell cannot be touched. See the licking joke.

Are there two Liberty Bells?

There is one original, in the Liberty Bell Center. Dozens of full-size replicas were cast in 1950 for the states and territories, and the Centennial Bell of 1876, a much larger bell, hangs with the clock in Independence Hall’s steeple. Details on replicas and the Centennial Bell.

Other dates and options

More Liberty Bell and Independence Hall tours with live availability, for dates when the tours above are full.

Browse more available options

The Liberty Bell, explained

The Liberty Bell is a bronze bell of 2,080 pounds, recast in Philadelphia in 1753 and silent since February 1846, on display at the Liberty Bell Center in Independence National Historical Park; according to the National Park Service, admission is free and no tickets are required.

Where it is and how entry works

The Liberty Bell Center is at 526 Market Street, on Independence Mall between the Independence Visitor Center and Independence Hall. The NPS lists it as open daily 9 am to 5 pm, with security screening closing shortly before, and advises checking nps.gov before visiting. Its own wording is direct: “Admission is FREE” and “NO tickets are required. Entrance is first-come, first-served.”

All visitors and belongings are screened, by x-ray or visual inspection and metal detectors. Firearms, knives, explosives and other weapons are prohibited, as are open containers of food or drink (NPS). The line waits outside in an uncovered area, and Visit Philadelphia suggests an umbrella if rain is forecast. The NPS lists a visit at 15 to 55 minutes, with variable waits. A local visitor guide reports waits of up to two hours from May to mid-June, when school groups visit, and suggests arriving before the 9 am opening or after about 1 pm. More on wait times.

The bell can also be seen without the line. It is visible through the large windows on Chestnut Street at any time of day or night, and Visit Philadelphia describes a side alcove on the building’s east side “where the Bell is visible through a window, perfect for taking a Bell-fie”. The options are on seeing it without waiting.

The glass-walled Liberty Bell Center with Independence Hall behind it
The glass-walled Liberty Bell Center with Independence Hall behind it

Inside the Liberty Bell Center

Self-guided exhibits along the hallway follow the bell’s history “through its use by abolitionists and civil rights advocates”, in the words of the NPS. A video runs with open captions and audio description, assistive listening devices are available, and written information comes in “a dozen languages”. The building is wheelchair accessible. There are no restrooms inside; the nearest are at the Independence Visitor Center, 6th and Market Streets.

The bell cannot be touched, but the exhibit has a casting of the inscription that visitors are encouraged to touch, according to the NPS and Visit Philadelphia. The full visit is described on the Liberty Bell Center page.

How the bell was made

In 1751 Isaac Norris, Speaker of the Pennsylvania Assembly, ordered a bell from the Whitechapel Foundry in London for the bell tower of the State House, now Independence Hall. It cracked on first use. Two local craftsmen, John Pass and John Stow, melted it down and cast a new bell in Philadelphia, completed in 1753 and marked “Pass and Stow Philada MDCCLIII” (NPS). The metal is bronze, about 70% copper and 25% tin, with small amounts of lead, gold, arsenic, silver and zinc, and the bell weighed 2,080 pounds at order. It hangs from its original yoke of American elm.

The inscription reads “Proclaim LIBERTY throughout all the Land unto all the Inhabitants thereof Lev. XXV X”, from Leviticus 25:10, and “By Order of the ASSEMBLY of the Province of PENSYLVANIA for the State House in Philada”. The single n in “Pensylvania” was an accepted spelling at the time; Alexander Hamilton used it on the Constitution’s signature page in 1787. More on the inscription and who made the bell.

Raised lettering around the crown of the Liberty Bell
Raised lettering around the crown of the Liberty Bell

The crack, the silence and the name

By the 1840s the bell had cracked, after about 90 years of use (NPS). In 1846 the sides of the crack were filed wide so the edges would not vibrate against each other, which is the broad gap visitors see today. When the bell was rung for Washington’s Birthday in February 1846, a second, thin crack ran “from the abbreviation for ‘Philadelphia’ up through the word ‘Liberty’”, which “silenced the bell forever”, according to the NPS. Details on the crack.

The name came later than many visitors assume. “The Anti-Slavery Record, an abolitionist publication, first referred to the bell as the Liberty Bell in 1835” (NPS). Historians have found no evidence that it rang on 4 July 1776, and they think it was probably among the bells rung when the Declaration was read publicly on 8 July 1776. Each July 4, descendants of the signers of the Declaration tap the bell 13 times, once for each of the 13 original colonies, in the afternoon; the NPS and local news publish the time. More on the bell on July 4th and the history of the bell.

From the State House to Market Street

From the late 1800s the bell travelled to expositions and fairs (NPS); in 1915 it went by train to an exposition in San Francisco. For the Bicentennial in 1976 it moved to a glass pavilion on Independence Mall, and on 9 October 2003 it was installed in the Liberty Bell Center, with tighter security following a 2001 attack on the bell by a visitor with a hammer.

The Liberty Bell hanging from its wooden yoke, lit by daylight
The Liberty Bell hanging from its wooden yoke, lit by daylight

The ticket across the street

Independence Hall, on Chestnut Street between 5th and 6th Streets, is where the Declaration of Independence (1776) and the US Constitution (1787) were signed, and it was inscribed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1979. Per the NPS hours page, it holds an open house from 9 to 10:30 am with no tickets, then tours every 20 minutes from 10:40 am to 4 pm with tickets, plus a 4:20 pm expanded tour that includes the second floor and is not wheelchair accessible. The tickets are free and reserved on recreation.gov or by phone, up to 30 days ahead, with a small reservation fee per ticket shown there; “any tickets not booked will be available up until the time of the tour”. The NPS asks visitors to arrive 30 minutes before the tour for screening. The steps are on Independence Hall tickets.

What is bookable

The bell itself is free, so there is no entry to buy. Six products sit around it, each described here from its own listing:

  • On foot by day. The Revolution and Founders history tour is a 2-hour walk with a historian guide from the Independence Visitor Center, and its listing includes Independence Hall timed tickets. The history highlights walk takes 2.5 hours from Signers Garden through Old City, with a listed stop at the Liberty Bell and a demonstration at the Museum of the American Revolution.
  • By vehicle. The hop-on hop-off bus runs a 90-minute loop with the Liberty Bell as one of its stops, on a ticket valid 1, 2 or 3 days. The full-day trip from New York lists 20 minutes at the Liberty Bell within a 15-hour day that continues to Washington, D.C.
  • Indoors and after dark. Museum of the American Revolution admission is valid for 2 consecutive days. The ghost tour by candlelight is an evening walk of about 90 minutes in the same park; its listing does not mention the Liberty Bell.

Each of the six listings states free cancellation up to 24 hours before. The six are set out together on the tours page, and the nearest SEPTA station, 5th Street/Independence Hall on the L, is covered on how to get there.

Frequently asked questions

Do you need tickets to see the Liberty Bell?

No. According to the NPS, admission is free, no tickets are required and entrance is first come, first served, daily 9 am to 5 pm at 526 Market Street. Visitors pass a security screening. The ticket nearby is for Independence Hall tours, reserved on recreation.gov. Details on do you need tickets.

What is the best time to visit the Liberty Bell?

A local visitor guide suggests arriving before the 9 am opening or after about 1 pm, and reports longer lines from May to mid-June, when school groups visit. The bell can also be seen through the Chestnut Street windows after closing. More on the best time to visit.

How long is the wait for the Liberty Bell?

It varies. The NPS lists a visit at 15 to 55 minutes, with variable waits, and Visit Philadelphia notes that lines can be long in peak seasons; the line waits outside in an uncovered area. A local visitor guide reports waits of up to two hours in May to mid-June. How to shorten it is on wait times.

Is the real Liberty Bell on display?

Yes. The original bell is on display in the Liberty Bell Center, 526 Market Street, where it was installed on 9 October 2003. It hangs from its original yoke of American elm. More on where the real bell is.

Is the Liberty Bell worth it?

That depends on what a visitor expects. The visit is free and short, 15 to 55 minutes per the NPS: a hallway of exhibits and the bell itself, with Independence Hall across Chestnut Street. What it is and is not is set out on is it worth it.

What can be seen in Philadelphia in one day?

A day around Independence Mall can take in the bell at opening, a timed Independence Hall tour, the Museum of the American Revolution, Elfreth’s Alley and Reading Terminal Market. A sample order is on Philadelphia in one day.

Can you still touch the Liberty Bell?

No. Visitors cannot touch the bell, but the exhibit has a casting of the inscription that visitors are encouraged to touch, according to the NPS and Visit Philadelphia. More on can you touch the bell.

How many times is the Liberty Bell rung on Independence Day?

It is tapped, not rung: each July 4, descendants of the signers of the Declaration tap the bell 13 times, once for each of the 13 original colonies, in a ceremony known as “Let Freedom Ring”. It takes place in the afternoon; the NPS and local news publish the time. See the bell on July 4th.

Why is the Liberty Bell so famous?

It hung in the State House, now Independence Hall, and abolitionists took it up as a symbol: the Anti-Slavery Record first referred to it as the Liberty Bell in 1835 (NPS). The NPS exhibit follows its later use by civil rights advocates. The full story is on the history of the bell.

How many cracks are in the Liberty Bell?

Two things show. The wide gap is the 1846 repair, when the sides of the crack were filed; the NPS describes a second, thin crack that ran up through the word “Liberty” when the bell was rung in February 1846. More on the crack.

Questions or corrections: [email protected]

Explore the Liberty Bell

Revolution and Founders history tourBook now