EN▾
Home › History highlights walk

The History Highlights Walk

A narrow cobbled lane of 18th-century brick row houses in Old City

In short: Philadelphia: History, Highlights & Revolution Walking Tour is a 2.5-hour guided walk in English that meets at the Signer statue in Signer’s Garden and finishes at N 6th St & Market St. Its listed route stops at the Liberty Bell, passes Independence Hall and Congress Hall, enters the Museum of the American Revolution for a live demonstration and continues to Elfreth’s Alley, Betsy Ross House and Benjamin Franklin’s grave.

Walk + museum demo2.5 hours on footon the clockBook this
Meeting pointThe Signer statue, Signer’s Garden
FinishN 6th St & Market St
LanguageEnglish
Liberty BellPhoto stop, guided, sightseeing
MuseumEnters for a live demonstration
Wheelchair accessListed as accessible
Start timesCheck the calendar in the booking widget
Free cancellationUp to 24 hours before, per the listing

What it is

A guided walk through the historic core and Old City that pairs the outdoor stops with one indoor visit: a live demonstration at the Museum of the American Revolution. The listing also includes “discounted admission into the Museum of the American Revolution”, which is a discount on admission, not free entry.

The route, stop by stop

The listing gives the route in this order:

  1. Signer’s Garden: the meeting point at the Signer statue.
  2. Independence Mall and Independence National Historical Park.
  3. Independence Hall and Congress Hall.
  4. Old City.
  5. The Liberty Bell: listed as a photo stop, guided and sightseeing.
  6. Carpenters’ Hall.
  7. The Museum of the American Revolution: the group enters for a live demonstration.
  8. Elfreth’s Alley, often described as one of the oldest residential streets in the country.
  9. Betsy Ross House.
  10. Benjamin Franklin’s grave.
  11. The finish at N 6th St & Market St.

The listing’s highlights also mention the US Mint, seen along the way.

What it shows of the bell

A stop at the Liberty Bell, listed as a photo stop with guiding and sightseeing. The listing does not state entry into the Liberty Bell Center or into Independence Hall. Entry to the Liberty Bell Center at 526 Market Street is free, with no ticket and first come, first served entry, open daily 9 am to 5 pm according to the NPS (check nps.gov before visiting). A timed Independence Hall tour needs its own ticket, as Independence Hall tickets explains.

Who it suits

Visitors who want the bell as part of a longer walk through Old City, with one museum demonstration on the way and a finish close to the Independence Visitor Center. The listing marks it as wheelchair accessible and advises allowing extra time to find parking for visitors who drive.

What travellers mention

Kayla from the US describes a knowledgeable guide and new information. Michelle from the US calls it fun and informative, and a good start to the trip.

Practicalities

Included

  • Local guide
  • Demonstration at the Museum of the American Revolution
  • Discounted admission into the Museum of the American Revolution
  • A donation to a local community organization
  • National park service fee

Not included

  • Not stated in the listing

Start times: check the calendar in the booking widget. Museum hours are published on amrevmuseum.org. The Museum of the American Revolution page covers the museum itself.

Local tip

The walk finishes at 6th and Market, beside the Independence Visitor Center and a short walk from the Liberty Bell Center line, for visitors who want to go inside afterwards.

Check availability & book

Two alternatives

Liberty Bell Tickets is an independent guide. It is not the National Park Service, not Independence National Historical Park and not a tour operator, and it is not affiliated with any of the companies whose tours and tickets it describes. Entry to the Liberty Bell Center is free and needs no ticket. Booking links go to GetYourGuide and are affiliate links: a booking made through them may earn this site a small commission at no extra cost to the traveller. See the affiliate disclosure.

Frequently asked questions

Does the highlights walk go inside the Liberty Bell Center?

The listing gives the Liberty Bell as a photo stop with guiding and sightseeing, and does not state entry into the Liberty Bell Center. Entry is free and first come, first served; the Liberty Bell Center explains the visit.

Is museum admission included on the highlights walk?

The listing includes a live demonstration at the Museum of the American Revolution and “discounted admission into the Museum of the American Revolution”. Full admission valid for 2 days is a separate product: museum entry, close up.

Where does the highlights walk start and finish?

It meets at the Signer statue in Signer’s Garden and finishes at N 6th St & Market St, according to the listing. How to get there covers SEPTA and the Independence Visitor Center.